GIVING TIME – Debe Brincefield of the Sitka Salvation Army helps distribute food at the Salvation Army on Sawmill Creek Road this afternoon. More than 50 Sitkans were lined up at noon to receive Thanksgiving baskets that included frozen turkeys and fresh vegetables. Food drives were held recently at all Sitka grocery stores to help stock the pantry. (Sentinel Photo by James Poulson)

Charles N. Natkong Sr.

Charles N. Natkong Sr.


Services for Charles N. Natkong Sr. will be held 1 p.m. Sunday, July 22, at the ANB Founders Hall. A luncheon will follow.
    Charles passed away peacefully in his sleep July 14 at Alaska Native Medical Center in Anchorage. He was 88.
    He was born Nov. 17, 1929, in Hydaburg, the son of Jessie (Neal) and Frank Natkong. He graduated from Wrangell Institute boarding school in Wrangell and attended college at Sheldon Jackson in Sitka and the University of Alaska, in Fairbanks.
    He worked for Sealaska Heritage Institute in  Juneau in the 1990s and helped develop the Haida dictionary.
    Charles served in the U.S. Army for 28 years, and was a member of the Green Berets Special Forces. He was in Vietnam for 11 months, and in Korea for 13 months. He retired as a command sergeant major.
    He loved all the military holidays, and would wear his Green Beret uniform for special occasions.
    Charles had moved back to Sitka from Hydaburg in January 2016.
    Survivors include his daughters, Jessie Anna Natkong of Sitka and Lillian Rose Young (Rodie) of Juneau; grandchildren Rose Anna Willard, Raven Natkong and Jessie Young, all of Juneau and Erika Lee (Natkong) Patton of New York; great-grandchildren Scott Patton Jr., Lilliana K. Willard and K’inchelyi M. Willard; and numerous nieces and nephews.
    His brothers, Don Natkong Sr., Frank Natkong Jr. and Joe Natkong, all of Hydaburg, and his sister, Audrey McCormack of Everett, Wash.,  also survive.
    Honorary pallbearers will be Herman Davis, Foy Nevers, Charlie Skultka Sr., Bobbie Kirkman, Edward Peale Sr. and Dave Hill Sr.
    Pallbearers will be Keith Perkins, Ed Peele Jr., Ron Davis, Mark Davis, Sunny Davis and George Chappell.

 Sponsored links

Login Form