Daily Sitka Sentinel

Blessing of the Fleet Ceremony Sunday

    The annual Blessing of the Fleet ceremony is planned 2 p.m. Sunday at the Crescent Harbor shelter.
    The event, for people of all faiths, is held in the spring to pray for a safe and bountiful season for those whose lives and livelihood are related to the sea, and to honor those who have gone before.
    Co-sponsors of the event are Southeast Women in Fisheries and the Sitka Lutheran Church.
    Among those who will officiate are the Rev. Sandra Rudd, Sitka Lutheran Church; Pastor Ryan Gluth, Assembly of God; the Rev. Diane Wonnenberg, First Presbyterian Church; and the Rev. Michael Boyle, St. Michael’s Cathedral. Members of the Southeast Alaska Women in Fisheries also will speak.
    The U.S. Coast Guard Color Guard will present colors.
    The St. Michael’s Russian Orthodox Choir will perform, along with other musicians Karen Lucas, Matt Donohoe, Linda Danner, Steve Ramp, Dave Turcott, Stephen Courtright, Jim and Jeanette Berry, Debra Lyons and Sarah Lynne McConahye. Sitka Assembly of God has loaned the public address system for the event.
    The day’s hymns will include: prelude ‘‘Crossing the Bar,’’ ‘‘Eternal Father Strong to Save,’’ ‘‘Would You Behold the Works of God,’’ ‘‘Jesus, Lover of My Soul,’’ ‘‘Come Thou Long Expected Jesus,’’ ‘‘For the Beauty of the Earth,’’ ‘‘Amazing Grace’’ and ‘‘Oh God of Good, the Unfathomed Sea.’’
    Sea chanties to be sung are ‘‘Lost with All Hands,’’ ‘‘The Final Trawl,’’ and ‘‘Clear a Way in the Morning.’’
The Sitka Harbor Department is to take flowers and wreaths out to sea, in memory of the mariners and as a reminder of sea safety.
The department reminds those taking their own wreaths and flowers that the items must have biodegradable backings.
Immediately following the service, refreshments will be served at the Sitka Lutheran Church.
Following is a listing of mariners who have died since last year’s ceremony. The bell will toll with each name read. Additional names may be called to Mary Todd Andersen at 738-0969.
    The current listing includes:
Doris Northrup, Barbara Bower, Barbara LaGuire, Arnold Didrickson, Pat Verney, Evelyn Arriola, Jim Davenport, Jay Badagliacca, August Anderson, Robert Duncan Sr., Jeane Tongsgard, Ben Grussendorf, Danny Jeske, Sharron McLaughlin, Marie Claire Grutter, Larry Crews, Jerry Cox, Roger Howard Sr., Chuck Parsley, Roman Antioquia, Joe Garrison, Freda Samuelson, Charles Tandy, William Bernhardt, Art Gamble Sr.
    Also, Ruth Amdal, Vern Wakefield, Esther James, Sidney Fry, Byron Paul, Anna Pellett, Bert Den Herder, Harold Wheaton, Thomas Wildmark, Bruce Horton, Bob Wyman, Tony DelMoral, Daniel Moreno Jr., Barton Sollars Sr., Albert Richter, Gonzalo Pelayo Sr., Wayne Young, Richard Eliason Sr. and Tom Smotherman, Walter P. Samuelson Jr., Tony Wrenn.

 Sponsored links

No Images

Login Form



No Images