Reed Reynolds Dies in Mo.; Former Resident was 83

Reed Reynolds


Former Sitkan Reed Reynolds died July 1, 2022, in Springfield, Missouri, at the age of 83.

He was born November 7, 1938, in San Antonio, Texas, to Oberon Reed Reynolds and Ella Beatrice Reynolds. 

He resided in Sitka from 1984 through 2002, when he moved to Juneau to work for GoldBelt. After his retirement he shared his time between Springfield and Juneau, until this year. His home Episcopal parishes were St. Peter’s in Sitka, and St. Brendan’s, Juneau.

Reed’s youth was spent in Springfield. He he graduated from Drury University, in Springfield, with a bachelor’s degree in 1960, majoring in chemistry and biology. He attended University of Oklahoma graduate school in microbiology and University of Chicago graduate school of business, with an MBA in hospital administration. 

His Sitka career included serving as executive director of SE Region EMS Council SEREMS; faculty member of Sheldon Jackson College 1989-2000; and University of Alaska Sitka and Juneau.

He was a member of the Alaska Bar Association, disciplinary Committee1995-2010. In Juneau, Reed was the network administrator with Gold Belt. He served on both Sitka Community Hospital Board of Directors and, in Juneau, the Bartlett Regional Hospital Board of Directors for almost 10 years.


Reed will be remembered for his humbleness, creative mind, and constant desire to learn. He will also be remembered for his caring connection to people, his strong spirituality, and his positive outlook on life. Reed accomplished many things in his life, most recently designing his new home in Springfield.

He is survived by Judy Hoover of Springfield; his five children, Lynn, Laurie, Libby, Dan and Chris; five grandchildren; and four great-grandchildren. Condolences can be sent to Judy Hoover, 3810 E. Cherry Unit 16 Springfield, MO. 65809.

A Juneau celebration of life was held Aug. 14 at St. Brendan’s Episcopal Church, 4207 Mendenhall Loop Rd.


Login Form



July 2004
Photo caption: Junior League All Stars will compete in a tournament in Wrangell. From left are Bryn Calhoun, Chris Scott, Sean O’Neill, Ross Venneberg, Caleb McGraw, Richard Carlos, Jacob Houston, Coby McCarty, Bryan Lovett and Daniel Erickson.


July 1974

Photo caption: Volunteers leave the Yaw Building Library with loads of books being transferred to the new Orin and Betty Stratton Library on the Sheldon Jackson campus. SJC librarian Evelyn Bonner expressed appreciation to the community for the help.


Local Events


Daily Sitka Sentinel on Instagram!


Daily Sitka Sentinel on Facebook!